Thursday 22nd October 2015
Johnnie Walker Cup Final

The Johnnie Walker Cup Final will be raced on Sunday 1st November and like last year it is open to Gold Category trotters.  The race will be the 7th one of the programme starting at 4:05 in the afternoon.  The distance is 2140m with autostart.


This year we had 19 more horses than last year participating and in fact we had an extra qualifying heat for a total of 5 races held during the two racing programmes on Friday 2nd and Sunday 4th October from which 20 qualified for the semi finals.  The two semi finals were held on Sunday 18th October and the 10 finalist horses became known.


Like last year the total prize money in this final is 1600 Euro with the winner getting 900 Euro. Four trophies were also commissioned for the occasion and the winning horse will also get a commemorative blanket.  Apart from this the winning owner will receive a bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue Label, the second placed a Johnnie Walker Platinum, the third a Johnnie Walker Gold Label and the fourth placed will receive a bottle of Johnnie Walker Double Black Label. The winning owner also gets the right to keep the Johnnie Walker Trophy for a year. This trophy dates back to 1939.  Last year’s winner was New Star DK driven by Noel Baldacchino.


We would like to once again thank the sponsors M.Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd especially their Marketing Manager Mr Alfred Braddick for the faith they have shown enabling us to organise this championship once again especially as this championship is now one that horse owners and drivers look forward to.


Apart from the media, for this press conference the owners of the finalist horses were also invited and they drew the horse’s starting number themselves. The ten finalist horses with their probable drivers are the following:


1. RADJAH DE MARZY (Patrick Spiteri)

2. ONE PHOTO (Charles Debono)

3. NASHVILLE DANCER (Andrew Farrugia)

4. OURASI DIAMS (Emmanuel Fenech)

5. RONSON CLOC (Carmelo Farrugia)

6. SEUL EN TETE (Charles Camilleri)

7. PACIFIC JOY (Anthony Bartolo)

8. SIGNE (James Carabott)

9. BIG BEN (Salvu Cutajar)

10. COOL CAVIAR (Julian Farrugia)



Lorraine Cunningham

Public Relations & Media Officer

Malta Racing Club